Easyjet chief executive Carolyn McCall has been made a Dame in the Queen’s New Year’s honours list.

Ann Summers CEO Jaqueline Gold is given a CBE.

Natalie Massenet, who founded Net-a-Porter, also becomes a Dame.

Other leading business figures to be recognised include outgoing Nationwide chief executive Graham Beale (CBE), the Bank of England’s monetary policy committee member David Miles (CBE) and Pets at Home founder Anthony Presto (CBE)

Zopa co-founder Giles Andrews becomes an OBE, while James Dyson has been awarded the prestigious Order of Merit.